Mathematics Education

International Directory

South Africa

The following international directory consists of individuals currently working in mathematics education in South Africa.

Any comments, additions, deletions or alterations should be posted to: alan@cdnalma.poznan.pl

Back to the full list


Adler, Jill, jill.adler@wits.ac.za, School of Education; University of the Witwatersrand; P.O.Wits, Johannesburg, 2050 South Africa; Tel: +27 11 7173413; Fax: +27 11 7173259

Austin, Pam, Pamela.austin@nmmu.ac.za Education Faculty, South Campus, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, PO Box 77000, Port Elizabeth, 6013, (+27) (0)41 5044360, (+27) (0)41 3685903

Barnes, Hayley, hbarnes@gk.up.ac.za, University of Pretoria; Groenkloof campus; Leyds street; Pretoria, 0001; South Africa; Tel: +27 12 420 5505; Fax: +27 420 5723

Beardon, Toni, toni@aims.ac.za, African Institute for Mathematical Sciences Schools Enrichment Centre (AIMSSEC), 6 Melrose Rd., Muizenberg, 7945 RSA +27 21 787 9326, +27 725 727 364, http://aimsssec.aims.ac.za

Berger, Margot. margot.berger@wits.ac.za, Division of Mathematics Education,  School of Education, University of the Witwatersrand; P.O. Wits; Johannesburg; 2050 South Africa; Tel:  +27 11 7173411 ; Fax: +27 86 5535614.

Bohlmann, Carol, carol.bohlmann@uct.ac.za, Centre for Higher Education Research, University of Cape Town, Rondebosch, Cape Town, South Africa, (+27) (0) 44 384 1844

Breen, Chris, CB@education.uct.ac.za, School of Education; University of Cape Town; Rondebosch; 7700 South Africa; Tel: (021) 650-2757; Fax: (021) 650-3489

Brodie, Karin, kbrodie@stanford.edu or brodiek@educ.wits.ac.za, Education Department; University of the Witwatersrand; P.O.Wits; Johannesburg; 2050 South Africa; Tel: +27 11 717 3045; Fax: 27 11 717 3067

Brombacher, Aarnout, aarnout@brombach.wcape.school.za, Westerford High School; Main Road; Rondebosch 7700; Cape Town; South Africa; Tel: +27 (0)21 -689-9154; Fax: +27-(0)21 685 5675

Coombe, Jane, JC@education.uct.ac.za, Mathematics Education Project; School of Education; University of Cape Town; Rondebosch 7700; South Africa; Phone 021 - 650 3368/2761; Fax 021 - 650 3489

Cronji, Fienie, 163lsc@cosmos.wits.ac.za ,PO Box 405, Florida Hills, 1716 South Africa; Tel: +27 11 716 8040; Fax: +27 11 339 1054

Davis, Zain, zd@education.uct.ac.za, School of Education; University of Cape Town; Private Bag; Rondebosch 7701; South Africa; Tel (021) 650 2775; Fax (021) 650 3489

De Beer, Therine, therine@malati.wcape.school.za, Mathematics Learning and Teaching Initiative; P.O. Box 647; Bellville;7535 South Africa; Tel: +27 21 948 6644; Fax: +27 21 (out of teaching - information from Alwyn Olivier)

 

de Villiers, Michael, profmd@mweb.co.za, University of KwaZulu-Natal; Private Bag X54001; 400 Durban; South Africa; Tel: 027-(0)31-2607252; Fax: 027-(0)31-2607866. Websites: http://dynamicmathematicslearning.com/homepage4.html and http://dynamicmathematicslearning.com/JavaGSPLinks.htm

du Preez, Jeanetta, jeanetta.dupreez@up.ac.za, Academic Development, School of Engineering, University of Pretoria, Main Campus, Pretoria, RSA, (+27) (0) 12 420 3799

du Toit, Gawie, opgt@opv.unos.ac.za, Department of Didactics; Free State University; PO Box 339; 9300 Bloemfontein; South Africa; Tel: +27 51 401 2639; Fax: +27 51 421 4462

Engelbrecht, Johann, johann.engelbrecht@up.ac.za, Department of Mathematics & Applied Mathematics; School of Mathematical Sciences; University of Pretoria;0002 Pretoria; South Africa; Tel:+27 12 4202850 (office); Fax: +27 12 4203893

Ensor, Paula, pe@education.uct.ac.za, School of Education; University of Cape Town; Rondebosch 7700; South Africa; Tel: +27 221 650 +2774; Fax: +27 21 650 3489

Essien, A. Anthony, anthony.essien@wits.ac.za School of Education; University of the Witwatersrand, P. O. Box 453, Wits, 2050, South Africa. Tel: +27117173408; Fax: +27865186392

Fransman, Joany, _joany.fransman@nwu.ac.za_, Faculty of Education Sciences, School for Continuing Teachers' Education, North-West University, Potchefstroom Campus South Africa. 27812994551, Fax: 27182994558.

Fullarton, Sue, fullarton@acer.edu.au, The Australian Council for Educational Research; Private Bag 55; Camberwell; Victoria 3124; Australia; Tel: +61 03 9277-5727; Fax: +61 03 9277-5500

Geldenhuys, Johanna L., johanna.geldenhuys@nmmu.ac.za Education Faculty, South Campus, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, PO Box 77000, Port Elizabeth, 6031, South Africa; Tel: +27 41 504 1188 Fax +27 866416259

Glencross, Michael, glencross@getafix.utr.ac.za, Department of Maths & Science Education; University of Transkei; Private Bag X1; 5117 Umtata; South Africa; Tel: (+27) 471 351 240; Fax: +27 471 302 2554

Glover, Hugh, maaohg@upe.ac.za, Department of Science, Mathematics and Technology Education; University of Port Elizabeth; PO Box 1600, Port Elizabeth, 6000 South Africa; Tel: +27 41 504 4013; Fax: +27 41 582 1000.

Graven, Mellony Holm, m.graven@ru.ac.za , Education Department, Rhodes University, P O Box 94, Grahamstown, 6140  www.ru.ac.za/sanc/

Harding, Ansie, aharding@up.ac.za, Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, University of Pretoria, South Africa. (+427) (0) 12 4202738, Fax: (+27) (0) 12 4203893.  http://www.up.ac.za/maths

Hannah, Julie, julie@cosmos.wits.ac.za, Mathematics Department; University of the Witwatersrand; P O Wits; 2050 Johannesburg; South Africa; Tel: +27 11 716 2893; Fax: +27 11 403 2017

Hockman, Meira, Mathematics Department; University of the Witwatersrand; P O Wits; 2050 Johannesburg; South Africa; Tel: +27 11 716 2922; Fax: +27 11 640 18332

Human, Piet, pgh@akad.sun.ac.za, Department of Didactics; Stellenbosch University; 7600 Stellenbosch; South Africa; Tel: +27 21 808 2286; Fax: +27 21 887 2628

van Jaarsveld; Pete, primeset@mweb.co.za or pete@chec.ac.za, Cape Higher Education Consortium (SAILI PROJECT); 46 Rouwkoop Road; Rondebosch 7700; South Africa; Tel: +27 21 6597168; +27 21 5322186; Fax: +27 21 6597176

Julie, Cyril, cjulie@education.uwc.ac.za, Faculty of Education; University of the Western Cape; Private Bag X117; 7530 Bellville; South Africa; Tel: +27 21 9592861; Fax: +27 21 959 3358

Junqueira, Karen Elize, zandk@vodamail.co.za, University of the Free State, Nelson Mandela Road, Bloemfontein, South Africa, 9301, +2751 422 4200, +2782 4363 466

Khuzwayo, Herbert, Faculty of Education, University of Zululand, Private Bag X1001, Kwadlangezwa, 3886. South Africa. Tel. No. 27 35-9026542, Fax: 27 35 9026842, email: hbkhuzw@pan.uzulu.ac.za

King, Lonnie, cenlck@upe.ac.za; Department of Science; Mathematics and Technology Education; University of Port Elizabeth; PO Box 1600;ort Elizabeth; 6000 South Africa; Tel: +27 41 504 4020; Fax: +27 41 582 1000.

Kloppers, Magda.  Magda.Kloppers@nwu.ac.za Faculty of Humanities, School of Education Sciences, North-West University, Vaal Triangle Campus, Private Bag X 1174, Vanderbijlpark, 1900.   tel: +27 16 910 3084; fax: +27 16 910 3078

Laridon, Paul, pel@cosmos.wits.ac.za, Mathematics Department; University of the Witwatersrand; P O Wits; 2050 Johannesburg; South Africa; Tel: +27 11 716 2822; Fax: +27 11 339 1054

Lebeta, Tseliso, Vincent, vincent.lebeta@up.ac.za: Department of Science, Mathematics and Technology Education, University of Pretoria, Leyds Street Groenkloof Campus: Pretoria: South Africa: Tel:+27 12 4205632, Fax: +27 12 4205621

Le Roux, Kate, kate.leroux@uct.ac.za, Numeracy Centre, University of Cape Town, South Africa

Liebenberg, Rolene, roleneliebenberg@telkomsa.net, School Partnerships - Community Interaction Division, University of Stellenbosch T: +27 21-808 3645, F: +27 21-808 2976 (now roleneliebenberg@telkomsa.net, Community Interaction, University of Stellenbosch - information from Alwyn Olivier)

Mabuza, Timothy Oupa, tim.mabuza@gmail.com, Ukuqonda Institute for learning Mathematics and Science, PO Box 21864, Proteapark, Rustenburg   0305 , South Africa. Tel +27 14 592 1540 Fax: 086 697 8225 

Maree, Gideon Jacobus, jgmaree@econ.up.ac.za, Department of Didactics; University of Pretoria, 001 Pretoria; South Africa; Tel: +27 12 420 2130; Fax: +27 12 342 2914

Mboyiya, Thandi, thandi@aardvark.ru.ac.za, RUMEP; St Peter's Building, 6140 Grahamstown; South Africa; Tel: +27 21 461 318166

McAuliffe, Sharon, mcauliffes@ctech.ac.za, Faculty of Education; Cape Technikon; PO Box 652; Cape Town 8000; South Africa; Tel: 021 6801528; Fax: 021 6801504

Mdlalose, Dumisani, dumisani@malati.wcape.school.za, Mathematics Learning and Teaching Initiative; P.O. Box 647; Bellville; 7535 South Africa; Tel: +27 21 948 6644; Fax: +27 21 948 6686 (now dmdlalos@pgwc.gov.za, Western Cape Education Department - information from Alwyn Olivier)

Mhakure, Duncan, duncan.mhakure@uct.ac.za, Centre for Higher Education Development (CHED), Academic Development Programme: Numeracy Centre, University of Cape Town, Upper Campus, Private Bag X3, Rondebosch, 7701, South Africa. Telephone: (+27) (21) 650 5731

Morar, Tulsidas, centtm@upe.ac.za, Department of Science; Mathematics and Technology Education; University of Port Elizabeth; PO Box 1600; Port Elizabeth,; 6000 South Africa; Tel: +27 41 504 4024; Fax: +27 41 582 1000.

Mosimege, Mogege, mogege.mosimege@nwu.ac.za, Rectorate, Mafikeng Campus, North West University, Mafikeng, South Africa, (+27) 18 389 2175

Mudaly, Vimolan, mudalyv@ukzn.ac.za, UKZN, Edgewood Campus Faculty of Education, School of Science, Mathematics and Technology Education, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Private Bag  X03, Ashwood, 3605, Telephone: +27-31-2603682, Fax :  +27-31-2603697, Cell: +27829770577

Mwakapenda, Willy, mwakapenda@yahoo.com; mwakapendawwj@tut.ac.za, Mathematics Science & Technology Education Dept, Tshwane University of Technology, Soshanguve South Campus, Box 911-1857, Rosslyn, Pretoria 0200, SOUTH AFRICA, +27824439243, www.tut.ac.za

Newstead, Karen, newstead@malati.wcape.school.za, Mathematics Learning and Teaching Initiative; P.O. Box 647; Bellville; 7535 South Africa; Tel: +27 21 948 6643; Fax: +27 21 948 6686 (moved to Australia, out of education - information from Alwyn Olivier)

Ngoepe, Mapula G., ngoepmg@unisa.ac.za, Department of Mathematics Education, UNISA,  P. O. Box 392, Pretoria, 0003,  South Africa +27124298375

Nieuwoudt, Hercules; email: hercules.nieuwoudt@nwu.ac.za; Faculty of Education Sciences, North-West University, Potchefstroom Campus, Private Bag X6001, Potchefstroom, 2520; tel: +27 18 299 1875; fax: +27 18 299 4238

Njisane, Raphael, njisane@getafix.utr.ac.za, Faculty of Education; University of Tanskei; Private Bag X1; Umtata; 5100 South Africa; Tel: +27 471 302 2554

Olivier, Alwyn,aio@sun.ac.za, Faculty of Education; University of Stellenbosch; 7600 South Africa; Tel: +27 21 808 2299; Fax: +27 21 808 2295

Penchaliah, Sylvie, sylvie@pixie.udw.ac.za, Department of Psychology of Durban-Westville; Private Bag X54001; Durban; 4000 South Africa; Tel: +27 31 820 2598; Fax: +27 31 820 2866

Penlington, Tom, t.penlington@ru.ac.za, RUMEP PO Box 94 Grahamstown South Africa 6140, +27 (046) 603 8166/603 7294.

Prins, Elise, edp@land.sun.ac.za, Institute for Mathematics and Science Education (IMSTUS); University of Stellenbosch; 24 Crozier Street; 7600 Stellenbosch; SOUTH AFRICA; Tel:  +21 8083689; Fax:  +21 8083000

Rhodes, Steve, rhodes@csel.uwc.ac.za; School of Science & Maths Education; University of the Western Cape; Private Bag X17; Bellville; 7535 South Africa; Tel: +2721 959 2322; Fax: +27 21 959 2602

Rossouw Lynn, rossouw@cse1.uwc.ac.za, Goldfields Resource Centre; University of the Western Cape; Private Bag X17; Bellville; 7535 South Africa; Tel: +27 21 959 2510; Fax: +27 21 951 2602

Rughubar-Reddy, Sheena, Sheena.Rughubar-Reddy@uct.ac.za, Numeracy Centre, University of Cape Town, Rondebosch; 7700 South Africa; Tel: +27 21 650-5730; Fax: +27 21 650-2334

Sasman, Marlene, marlene@malati.wcape.school.za, Mathematics Learning and Teaching Initiative; P.O. Box 647, Bellville, 7535 South Africa; Tel: +27 21 948 6644; Fax: +27 21 948 6686 (now msasman@pgwc.gov.za, Dinaledi, Western Cape Education Department, Fax: +27 21 467 2620 - - information from Alwyn Olivier)

Schafer, Marc, M.Schafer@ru.ac.za , Rhodes University, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa. +27 46 6038383

Stott, Deborah Ann , d.stott@ru.ac.za, Education Department, Rhodes University, P O Box 94, Grahamstown, 6140  www.ru.ac.za/sanc/

Mamokgethi Setati, setatrm@unisa.ac.za, College of Science, Engineering and Technology, University of South Africa, P O Box 392, Unisa, 0002, Tel. +27 12 4292851, Fax. : +27 86 6596806

Sibaya, DC, dcsibaya@pan.uzulu.ac.za; University of Zululand; Private Bag X 1001; Kwadlangezwa 3886; Tel: +27 351 93911; Fax: +27 351 941390

Southwood, Sue, S.Southwood@ru.ac.za; MiST [Mathematics information technology, Science & Technology Education] Coordinator; Education Department; Rhodes University; Grahamstown 6140; South Africa; Tel:  +27 46 6038610; Fax: +27 46  6228028

Spanneberg, Rose, R.Spanneberg@ru.ac.za; RUMEP; St. Peter's Building; Grahamstown; 6140 South Africa; Tel: +27 21 461 318 166; Fax +27 21 461 25043

Sproule, Stephen, 163sls@cosmos.wits.ac.za, Department of Mathematics; University of the Witwatersrand; Private Bag 3; P.O.Wits; Johannesburg; 2050 South Africa; Tel: +27 11 717 6216; Fax: +27 11 403 2017

Stols, Gerrit, gerrit.stols@up.ac.za, Department of Science, Mathematics & Technology Education; University of Pretoria; Pretoria; 0002; South Africa; Tel:+27 12 420 5750 (office); Fax: +27 86 502 9625

Tait, Elizabeth, emtait@vodamail.co.za, Crawford College La Lucia, P O Box 250, Gillitts, KZN, 3610, RSA, (+27) (0) 83 6406160, Fax(+27) (0) 31 562 0057 

Vermeulen, Nelis, vern@edutech.ctech.ac.za; Cape Technikon; Cape Town; 8000 South Africa; Tel: +27 21 460 3332; Fax: +27 21 887 9020

Vithal, Renuka, rvithal@pixie.udw.ac.za; Faculty of Education; University of Durban Westville; Private Bag X54001; Durban; 4000 South Africa; Tel: +27 31 820 2587; Fax: +27 31 820 2866

Volmink, John, volmink@admin.und.ac.za, University of Natal, Durban 4041; South Africa; Tel: +27 31 260 2395; Fax:  +27 31 260 2812

Webb, John, jhwebb@maths.uct.ac.za, Department of Mathematics; University of Cape Town; Rondebosch; 7700 SOUTH AFRICA; Tel: 27 21 650 3193; Fax: 27 21 650 3159

Webb, Lyn, lyn.webb@nmmu.ac.za, Faculty of Education, P.O. Box 77000, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth, South Africa, 6031. +2784 770 4111

Wessels, Dirk, dcjwessels@gmail.com, Dept of Curriculum Studies; Education Faculty; GG Cillie Building; Stellenbosch University, South Africa; 7602; Tel +27-21-8535476; Fax +27-86-6295488

Wessels, Helena, hwessels@sun.ac.za, Research Unit for Mathematics Education; Dept of Curriculum Studies; Education Faculty; GG Cillie Building; Stellenbosch University, South Africa; 7602; Tel +27-21-8082286; Fax +27-86-6295488